Angry Liberal Mommy

Every day there's a story in the newspapers that just pisses me off! Few forums I've visited offer civilized political discourse--they all seem to degenerate into name calling. So get angry, give your opinion, or just read 'em and weep for our warped society.

Friday, September 02, 2005

So This Is My Life Now

I can't believe it's been over a month since I've posted. I'm sure everyone has stopped checking, and I'm probably posting to no one, but I feel like I have to explain my absence.

This may come off as whiny, but I'm really not complaining. This is my day:

5:00AM: My alarm goes off. I used to jump right up, but lately I've been hitting the snooze until 5:10AM

5:10AM: I get out of bed.

5:20AM: After giving some petting to whichever annoying, attention-starved feline chooses to accompany me into the bathroom, I take a shower.

5:30AM: Put in contacts, moisturize, put on some makeup, and all that other girl stuff.

5:50AM: Feed the fish. Feed the cats. Get my lunch together. Usually, I have laundry to put in the dryer (or take out of the dryer).

6:10AM: Eat breakfast. Usually, I will try to read a bit of the paper while I eat. Greg is usually getting up about now.

6:30AM: Finish makeup. Fix hair. Get dressed. Usually by this time Mia is awake, so I say "Hello" to her, give her lots of kisses, and give her a toy or two to play with until Greg is out of the shower & able to get her up.

7:00-7:10AM: Make my latte. Grab my stuff, kiss everyone "Goodbye", and head out the door.

7:10-8:00AM: Hellishly slow 25 mile commute to the office.

8:00AM-5:00PM Work. Typically, I do not take a lunch hour, so that I can leave on time.

5:00PM-@6:15PM: Hellishly slow 25-mile commute home.

6:15-6:25PM: Change out of my work clothes.

6:25PM: Take charge of Mia. This could mean feeding her, if she hasn't been fed, or just reading to her or playing with her.

7:00PM: If it's bath night, I'll give Mia a bath. Otherwise, I will just give her her medicine (4 syringes/3 different medicines), brush her teeth, get her into pajamas, get out her clothes for the next day, and put her to bed.

7:30PM: Take charge of Norah. Change her, and get her into pajamas, and feed her, and feed her, and feed her. Somehow, I manage to eat dinner while I'm doing this.

9:00PM: Norah finally falls asleep.

9:15-10:15PM: Most nights there is laundry to do. Every two days, it is time to wash my hair and let it air dry a bit. Then, it's time to get ready for the next day: Boiling water, making formula, opening the mail, loading up the coffee maker for the next day, and general straightening up. Occasionally, I will get to read the rest of the newspaper.

10:15-10:30PM: If it's a hair washing night, I'll blow dry my hair. Then I do the usual washing, teeth brushing, etc. Then it's time for bed.

3:30AM: Norah wakes up because she has lost her pacifier. Replace pacifier.
4:00AM: Norah wakes up because she has lost her pacifier. Replace pacifier.
4:30AM: Norah wakes up because she has lost her pacifier. Replace pacifier.

5:00AM: Alarm goes off...Lather. Rinse. Repeat.